The Mysterious Disappearance of Aidan S.: As Told to His Brother

Regular price $12.64

⏳ Hurry! Sale ends in {timer}.
 

We’re not making a profit on this sale! If you have the means, please consider contributing to the Rainbow Book Bus at checkout 💕

Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
New York Times bestselling author David Levithan takes young readers on twisting journey through truth, reality, and fantasy and belief.

Aidan disappeared for six days. And just as suddenly as he vanished, Aidan reappears. Where has he been? The story he tells is simply. . . impossible. But it's the story Aidan is sticking to.
His brother, Lucas, wants to believe him. But Lucas is aware of what other people, including their parents, are saying: that Aidan is making it all up to disguise the fact that he ran away.
The kids in school taunt him, but still Aidan clings to his story as Lucas becomes more concerned. Being on Aidan's side would mean believing in the impossible. But how can you believe in the impossible when everything and everybody is telling you not to?

About the Author

Some of David Levithan's many acclaimed novels and story collections include 19 Love Songs, Every Day, Two Boys Kissing, and Boy Meets Boy. His bestselling collaborations include Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist, Dash and Lily's Book of Dares, and The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily (written with Rachel Cohn) and Will Grayson, Will Grayson (written with John Green). David was named the recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award for his contribution to YA literature. You can learn more about him at davidlevithan.com and follow him on Twitter at @loversdiction.

"A well-paced story about the collision of realities in the vein of Laura E. Weymouth and Seanan McGuire." -Publishers Weekly, starred review

"[A] superb story.... Levithan's first book for middle-grade readers is an unqualified success." -Booklist, starred review

"Engaging.... the matter-of-fact inclusion of LGBTQ+ characters is noteworthy. A thought-provoking title for sophisticated readers." -Kirkus Reviews

"A stellar novel that deftly examines the uncomfortable reality that not everything has a satisfying answer. For example, sometimes people go away and we're lucky if they come back, and we may be better off focusing less on where they've been but on the fact that they've returned." -The Bulletin

An insightful story, with echoes of Narnia, that will appeal to thoughtful and sophisticated readers." --School Library Journal

Publisher: Yearling Books
Pub date:
Length:
224 pages
Format: Paperback