How to Succeed in Witchcraft - ShopQueer.co

How to Succeed in Witchcraft

Regular price $18.99

⏳ Hurry! Sale ends in {timer}.
 

We’re not making a profit on this sale! If you have the means, please consider contributing to the Rainbow Book Bus at checkout 💕

Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

A talented witch competes for a prestigious scholarship at her cutthroat high school in this contemporary fantasy for fans of Never Have I Ever and Sabrina the Teen Witch.

“Captivating, romantic, and deeply powerful" —Aiden Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of Cemetery Boys

Magically brilliant, academically perfect, chronically overcommitted—

Shay Johnson has all the makings of a successful witch. As a junior at T.K. Anderson Magical Magnet School, she’s determined to win the Brockton Scholarship—her ticket into the university of her dreams. Her competition? Ana freaking Álvarez. The key to victory? Impressing Mr. B, drama teacher and head of the scholarship committee.

When Mr. B asks Shay to star in this year’s aggressively inclusive musical, she warily agrees, even though she’ll have to put up with Ana playing the other lead. But in rehearsals, Shay realizes Ana is . . . not the despicable witch she’d thought. Perhaps she could be a friend—or more. And Shay could use someone in her corner once she becomes the target of Mr. B’s unwanted attention. When Shay learns she’s not the first witch to experience his inappropriate behavior, she must decide if she’ll come forward. But how can she speak out when her future's on the line?

"The perfect witchy read" —BuzzFeed

About the Author

Aislinn Brophy (she/they) is an actor, writer, and arts administrator based in the Atlanta area. She was born and raised in South Florida, but made her way up to the frigid northeast for college. Their hobbies include pawning off their baking on anybody nearby, doing funny voices, and dismantling the patriarchy. Aislinn has a degree in Theater, Dance & Media, and her experiences as a performer consistently wiggle their way into her writing. In all aspects of her work as an artist, she is passionate about exploring identity and social justice issues. Their debut YA novel, How To Succeed in Witchcraft, will be published fall 2022, with a second untitled novel to follow.

Praise for How to Succeed in Witchcraft

The perfect witchy read for fall, this debut is a wonderful contemporary fantasy. --BuzzFeed

Aislinn Brophy adds another dynamite offering to the magical school canon. --Nerdist

★ Brophy's rapidly paced debut grounds its magical backdrop by exploring themes of capitalism, grooming, privilege, and racism, and Shay and Ana's enemies-to-lovers romance offers a sweet reprieve from Mr. B's ominous intentions. --Publishers Weekly, starred review

This book does the most, and I'd be lying if I said I didn't love it. --The Book Riot Podcast

Delivers a killer plot packed with meaty metaphor and soul-warming sapphic romance. This book is captivating, romantic, and deeply powerful. --Aiden Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of Cemetery Boys

A delightful debut. . . . Come for the crackling queer banter, stay for the history of magic (steeped in shrewd social consciousness). --Ryan Douglass, New York Times bestselling author of The Taking of Jake Livingston

Sure to delight and burn with righteous rage. --Jessica Lewis, author of Bad Witch Burning

The lightly magical world with two queer leads that debut author Brophy creates closely mirrors ours, from social issues regarding race and gender to the dilemmas teenagers face in planning their futures. . . . #MeToo with a magical twist. --Kirkus Reviews

Despite the creative use of magic, the novel succeeds even beyond its fantasy components. . . . A welcome addition to the fantasy genre. --Booklist

A well-developed modern world. . . . With cool magic in a deeply diverse world, this begs for a sequel. --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Well written with well-developed characters . . . a good LGBTQIA+ addition to any collection. --School Library Journal

Rest assured. It's a good read. . . . How to Succeed in Witchcraft should be required reading. --Geek Girl Authority

Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pub date:
Length:
416 pages
Format: Hardcover